Call for Student Poets

Poet Camille Dungy will spend two days at UConn this spring (March 10 and 11) as the Aetna Writer-in-Residence. Six student writers (grad students or undergrads) will be selected to participate in one-on-one writing tutorials with her. Students interested in participating should submit a typed 5-page manuscript of poetry to Professor Sean Forbes, English Department, Austin 208. Each manuscript must be accompanied by a cover sheet with the student’s name and all contact information. Manuscripts must be received by Monday, February 23, 2015 for consideration.

Camille Dungy is the author of three books of poetry: What to Eat, What to Drink, What to Leave for Poison; Smith Blue; and Suck on the Marrow. Her poems have appeared in Poetry, Callaloo, The Missouri Review, and Crab Orchard Review. Her honors include fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Virginia Commission for the Arts. She is the recipient of the 2011 American Book Award, a two-time recipient of the Northern California Book Award, and a two-time NAACP Image Award nominee. She is Professor of English at Colorado State University.

The Aetna Writer-in-Residence Program began in 2003. With funding support from the Aetna Chair in Writing, UConn’s Creative Writing Program invites a nationally or internationally known author to campus for a residency each semester. Each author spends three days on campus offering tutorials for students, holding Q&A sessions with the campus community, leading master classes in creative writing, sharing meals with students, and giving a public reading of his or her work. As a result of the Aetna Writer-in-Residence program, UConn graduate and undergraduate students can participate in an intense hands-on learning experience with some of today’s most exciting authors.

Past Aetna Writers-in-Residence included Jo-Ann Mapson, Eduardo Corral, Andre Dubus III, G.C. Waldrep, Margot Livesey, Shara McCallum, Connie Voisine, Edmund White, Colum McCann, Lynne McMahon, Fay Weldon, Phillis Levin, Allen Kurzweil, Naeem Murr, Steve Almond, C.D. Wright, Stuart O’Nan, and Beth Ann Fennelly.