Käpylä Translation Prize

The UConn Program in Literary Translation is delighted to announce that the winner of the inaugural Käpylä Translation Prize ($1,000) is J. Kates, for his outstanding translation of Paper-Thin Skin by Aigerim Tazhi, a Kazakhstani woman poet who writes in Russian. The judge, Burton Pike, selected the winner and shortlisted entries from a competitive pool of submissions spanning a striking diversity of genres and languages.

J. Katesis a well-known American poet, literary translator, and the president and co-director of Zephyr Press.

Among the Shortlisted Translators chosen by Burton Pike were three UConn graduate students:

Jeanne Bonner

Pauline Levy-Valensi

Brian Sneeden


Other Shortlisted Translators Include: 

Natascha Bruce

Jennifer Croft

Oleksandra Gordynchuk

Catherine Hammond

Jeremy Tiang


The Käpylä Translation Prize is an international prize awarded annually for an exceptional book-length translation project in poetry, fiction, or creative nonfiction from any language into English. The Prize is hosted by UConn’s Program in Literary Translation, and sponsored by Käpylä Publishing.