Calling Student Poets!

Poet Shane McCrae to be Fall Aetna Writer-in-Residence:
Graduate and Undergraduate Students are Invited to Participate.

Shane McCrae will spend three days at UConn this fall (October 24, 25, 26) as the Aetna Writer-in-Residence. Ten student writers will be selected to participate in one-on-one writing tutorials with Mr. McCrae. Students interested in participating should submit a typed 5-page manuscript of poetry to Professor Sean Forbes, English Department, Austin 208. Each manuscript must be accompanied by a cover sheet with the student’s name and all contact information. Manuscripts must be
received by Friday, October 5, 2018 for consideration.

Shane McCrae is the author of six books of poetry–most recently, In the Language of My Captor (2017), which won the 2018 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for Poetry, and was a finalist for the National Book Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and the William Carlos Williams Award, and The Gilded Auction Block (2018). He is the recipient of a Lannan Literary Award, a Whiting Writer’s Award, and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship. He teaches at Columbia University and lives in New York City.

The Aetna Writer-in-Residence Program began in 2003. Supported by funding from the Aetna Chair in Writing, UConn’s Creative Writing Program invites a nationally or internationally-known author to campus for a residency each semester. Each author spends three days on campus offering tutorials
for students, holding Q&A sessions with the campus community, leading master classes in creative writing, sharing meals with students, and giving a public reading of his or her work. As a result of the Aetna Writer-in-Residence program, UConn graduate and undergraduate students can
participate in an intense hands-on learning experience with some of
today’s most exciting authors.

Past Aetna Writers-in-Residence included Jeff Parker, Tara Betts, Kimiko Hahn, Amber Dermont, Jericho Brown, Laura van den Berg, Camille Dungy, Jo-Ann Mapson, Eduardo C. Corral, Andre Dubus III, G.C. Waldrep, Margot Livesey, Shara McCallum, Connie Voisine, Edmund White,Colum McCann, Lynne McMahon, Fay Weldon, Phillis Levin, Allen Kurzweil, Naeem Murr, Steve Almond, C.D. Wright, Stuart O’Nan, and Beth Ann Fennelly.