Creative Writing Award Winners

Congratulations to the English Department’s 2018-2019 Creative Writing Award Winners!


The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prizes

Prose Winner/$2,400: Sean Cavanaugh


Poetry Winner/$2,400: Veronica Schorr


The Jennie Hackman Memorial Prize for Fiction

First place/$1,000: Courtney Haigler

Second place/$300: Ellen Fuller

Third Place/$200: Christopher Gardner


Wallace Stevens Poetry Contest

First place/$1,000: Kerry Carnahan

Second place/$500: Matthew Ryan Shelton

Third place/$250: Christine Byrne

Honorable Mentions: Julia Brush, Siobhan Dale, and Benjamin Radcliffe

The Aetna Children’s Literature Award

Winner/$250: Madeline Eller


The Aetna Translation Award

Winner/$250: Xin Xu


The Aetna Creative Nonfiction Awards

Undergraduate First prize co-winners/$125 each: Andrew Kucharski and Natiel Cooper

Graduate First Prize, /$250: Sophia Buckner

Honorable Mentions: Jeanne Bonner and Maurice Rodriguez


Long River Review Graduate Writing Award

Winner/$250: Sophia Buckner


Edwin Way Teale Award for Nature Writing

Winner/$900: Ellen Fuller