Moriarty Award for Sarah Bertekap

2020 Timothy F. Moriarty Award in Irish Literature goes to Sarah Bertekap.

The selection committee, comprising Mary Burke, Rachael Lynch, and Tom Shea, is pleased to announce that the winner of the 13th Annual Timothy F. Moriarty Award in Irish Literature is Sarah Bertekap.

The award this year is $1,500 to support continued professional development. Sarah’s most impressive accomplishments include seven conference papers delivered, archival research on Lady Gregory, Micheál MacLiammóir, and Hilton Edwards, as well as serving as an officer in An Cumann Gaelach, promoting the Irish language here at UConn.

With this award, Sarah hopes to travel to Dublin this summer to conduct further research in Ireland’s National Library and then travel to Gleann Cholm Cille, Donegal to participate in an immersive Gaeltacht program, Oideas Gael.

We extend our hearty congratulations to Sarah Bertekap.