Aetna Chair of Writing

The Aetna Chair of Writing was established in 1986 with a million-dollar endowment–$500,000 from the Aetna Foundation and matching funds from the State Department of Higher Education. Dr. Lynn Z. Bloom, appointed first Aetna Chair of Writing in 1988, supervised funding to invent, develop, and enhance writing at UConn’s flagship and regional campuses, throughout the state of Connecticut, and nationwide. Through support of the Connecticut Writing Project, and funding for creative writers–poets, authors of fiction for children and adults, autobiographers, playwrights, puppeteers–the Aetna endowment reaches audiences across the educational spectrum, from kindergarten through college and adult learners.
Aetna Chair of Writing: Brenda Brueggemann Program Assistant: Lori Corsini-Nelson
215 Glenbrook Road, Unit 4025
Austin 201D
Storrs, CT 06269-4025
Phone: (860) 486-1124
Fax: (860) 486-1530