Month: June 2020

Accolades for Anna Zarra Aldrich

Anna Zarra Aldrich, an Honors student who just graduated with degrees in English, Journalism, and Political Science, has earned many awards in her academic career so far. She is a Babbidge Scholar, a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Society, and a Dean’s List honoree. She has been lauded as an excellent speaker, a stellar academic thinker and leader, and as someone who is unafraid to take exciting risks in her creative work. During her time at UConn, Anna served as Editor-in-Chief of both the Daily Campus and the Long River Review, treasurer of UConn NOW, Press Corps Model UN member,  a research intern at the Thomas J. Dodd Center Archives and Special Collections, and a communications specialist for the Office of the Vice President for Research.

Anna’s plan is to pursue a PhD in English with the goal of becoming a professor.

Kudos to this excellent graduate!





English Department Scholarships Awarded

English Department Scholarships 2020

Congratulations to the following award recipients!

And thank you to all who nominated students—we received many fine entries and only wish there were awards for all who merit them.


The Jonathan Hufstader Distinguished English Major Award: Stephanie Santillo


The Kathleen Gibson McPeek Scholarship: Gillian Bullock

Honorable Mention: Julie Dai


The Suzanne Brennan Perella Memorial Scholarship: Camryn Johnson


The Steblea Family Scholarship: Madelon Morin-Vial